Honorary Titles and Recognitions

Honorary Title

Doctor Honoris Causa

2018Prof. Rajko Grlić
One of the world’s best-known directors in the territory of the former state of Yugoslavia.

2017Prof. Dr. Igor D. Gregorič
A world-renowned heart surgeon.

2015Prof. Dr. Gerald P. Schatten
A world-renowned scientist in the areas of assisted reproductive technology, regenerative medicine and stem cells.

2015Mr. Miki Muster
One of the best authors of picture books, strip cartoons, and motion cartoons. He is the father of Slovenian strip cartoons.

2014Prof. Dr. Peter Jenni
One of the “founding fathers” of the ATLAS experiment at CERN.

2013Prof. Dr. Dirk Hoerder
A world-renowned historian of human migration and the recipient of the Sharlin Prize, awarded to him by the Social Science History Association in 2003.

2011Dr. Evgen Bavčar
A photographer – essayist – philosopher and publicist. An outstanding photographer and an important co-creator of the global art scene.

2010Prof. Dr. Michael Grätzel
One of the 10 most cited chemists in the world. Recipient of the Millenium Technology Prize for the year 2010.

2009Prof. Dr. Satya N. Atluri
Renowned scholar for computational modelling in engineering and sciences.

2008Akad. Prof. Dr. Vinko V. Dolenc
World famous Slovene neurosurgeon.

2006Dr. Christer Fuglesang
Astronaut – crew member of space shuttle Discovery (mission STS-116).

2004Prof. Romano Prodi
President of the European Commission.

2004Mr. Joseph F. Sutter
Chief Designer of the Boeing 747.

2002Prof. Dr. Paul J. Crutzen
Nobel Laureate for Chemistry.

2000Prof. Dr. James W. Cronin
Nobel Laureate for Physics.

Honorary Member

2018 – Doc. Dr. Julij Nemanič

2017 – Prof. Dr. Paolo Samorí

2016 – Prof. Dr. William E. Eichinger

2015 – Prof. Dr. Urška Vrhovšek, Prof. Dr. Chieu D. Tran

2014 – Dr. Vincenzo Palermo

2013 – Dr. Suzan van Dijk

2012 – Prof. Dr. Dane Bićanić

2011 – Prof. Alfonso Franciosi

2010 – Prof. Dr. Neil McN. Alford

2008 – Dr. Murat Boratav

Professor Emeritus

2018 – Prof. Dr. Jukka Jokilehto

2017 – Prof. Dr. Boštjan Žekš

2016 – Prof. Dr. Stanko Strmčnik

2015 – Prof. Dr. Stane Granda

2012 – Prof. Dr. Corrado Sarzanini

2010 – Prof. Antonino Abrami

2009 – Akad. Prof. Dr. Andrej Kranjc

2008 – Prof. Dr. Franc Bizjak

2007 – Prof. Dr. Janez Štupar

2005 – Prof. Dr. Stojan Plesničar, Prof. Dr. Sidney A. Katz


Golden plate of the University of Nova Gorica

2017 – Mag. Mitja Jermol

2016 – Prof. Dr. Matjaž Klemenc

2015 – Prof. Dr. Boštjan Žekš

2013 – Ivan Princes, MSc, Prof. Dr. Tanja Dominko

2011 – Members of the First Senate of the School of Environmental Sciences – the predecessor of the University of Nova Gorica. The members of the First Senate were: Prof. Dr. Franc Bizjak – Prof. Dr. Andrej Čokl, Prof. Dr. Ana Gregorčič – Prof. Dr. Franc Gubenšek – Prof. Dr. Nikola Kallay – Prof. Dr. Burton C. Kross – Prof. Dr. Ivan Marušič – Prof. Dr. Peter Stegnar – Prof. Dr. Janez Štupar and Prof. Dr. Boštjan Žekš.

2010 – Prof. Dr. Francisco Ernesto Baralle

2009 – Prof. Dr. Bogdan Glumac

2008 – Prof. Dr. Giorgio Margaritondo

2007 – Boris Peric

2005 – Črtomir Špacapan

Alumnus Primus

Alumnus Optimus