Eligibility for no-fee studies and free Slovenian language courses


The citizens of the following states are exempt from paying tuition fees for full-time studies at Bachelor’s and Master’s study programmes with concessions (public budget funding):

  • the Republic of Slovenia,
  • the rest of the EU member states*,
  • Serbia, North Macedonia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Kosovo.

*Citizens of Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein and Switzerland are treated equally to the citizens of the EU-member states.

Valid protocols with the countries of the Western Balkans on the exemption of tuition fee payment

Candidates from other states who are not eligible for tuition-free Bachelor’s and Master’s studies and candidates interested in scholarships for PhD studies are advised to follow the news on the currently available scholarships on the following websites:


The School of Humanities of the University of Nova Gorica organises Slovenian language courses, which will give you a basic knowledge of the Slovenian language and culture, so that you will feel much more comfortable during your study period in Slovenia. These language courses are ECTS-accredited and UNG students of many programmes may take them as elective courses, meaning that ECTS credits are assigned to candidates upon their successful passing of the course.

Please that currently no preparatory language courses are available to candidates for enrollment before the start of the academic year.

Syllabus of a 60-hour Basic Slovenian Language Course
More information on language courses at the School of Humanities

Tuition Fees – UNG price list
Advantages of studying at UNG in a nutshell

Map of Europe: in blue – countries whose citizens are exempt from paying tuition fees for full-time Bachelor’s and Master’s studies with state concessions
Photo credit: mapchart.net – interactive map maker

Erasmus Intensive Language Course at UNG: Getting from “Ne razumemo! – We don’t understand!” to “Razumemo! – We understand!”
Photo credit: Veronika Piccinini